Restoring what the locust had stolen.

2014. What a bittersweet year. I began the year confused and broken. Then loneliness, frustration and single-parenting tried to take me over the edge.. By summer, my children were 800 miles away for 2.5 months, I missed home and my family dearly, and I thought that I had made a terrible mistake in moving to Georgia. I wanted to run home in the comfort of familiar faces and places to take that feeling away. My emotions were getting the best of me. But that’s when God showed how my obedience to do what he told me (moving here) came to pass. He wanted to get me right where he wanted me to be all along, the very place that I feared: ALONE. Although that wasn’t the plan when I came here, he had already ordered my steps. Alone in his presence, I started to see exactly why he allowed me to go through, heartbreak, abuse, 2 divorces, and moving away from everything that I knew.. To share his goodness of grace, mercy and his unconditional love! Sure I back-slid a few times and attempted to figure it all out on my own, I had many days that I just cried and prayed and cried and prayed some more. I almost lost my mind, but I never lost my faith. Sometimes I even doubted that what I heard the Holy Spirit say to me was true. “It’s gonna be ok, just trust me Daughter.. Hold on” I began to pray, “Show me who I am in you God, I’m tired of trying to figure this life out on my own.. I don’t wanna be anything that I have conjured up in my mind of who I think I am.” As he began to shine his light on the darkest moments of my life, my smile came back, I had joy!! He promised me that the things that I despised about my life were the very things that he wanted to use to help others! My purpose. The ugly things, the things I was ashamed of, the things that I thought I could hide so well that even he would never love about me. Little by little, he revealed his plans for my life, for me as a Woman, A Mother and why he allowed me to endure so much. Even how I would encourage other women one day with my story. I finally stepped out on faith and became obedient to what he told me to do a long time ago. I started to share and write about my struggles and how God brought me through using social media as an outlet, and I even started a blog. I was afraid of people’s reaction and the gossip that would occur. But every time I wanted to quit, someone else would come and say, “Thank you so much for sharing your testimony and being transparent, I’ve been there before.” Im still in awe of how it all happened. THEN little did I know that because of my obedience I would be blessed more than I could have ever asked to be. Day by day, My heart became softened, the walls that I had placed around it began to crumble and I was joyful again. A few weeks later, A simple and honest phone call would begin the restoration of my marriage to the love of my life. I didn’t see it coming, neither did he.. But God did. He’s amazing!! Listen, Don’t ever let anyone tell you that God doesn’t work miracles, even when you can’t see them coming… With tears in my eyes as I’m typing this, my heart is overjoyed at what he has done in our lives, separately and collectively! Thank you Lord, thank you!!

