21 days of affirmation-Day 3: Open up

Last night I had the opportunity to attend a women’s class at my church. After the lesson was completed we had time for an open discussion with the few other women at our table. Surprisingly, when the time came.. No one said anything. It was silent.

I am a leader by nature, but I wanted to give the chance for someone else to speak first, because I can talk a lot! And I am learning to listen more effectively. But eventually, I did the one thing that I used to be afraid to: open up.

After I shared my personal struggles, the conversation continued, and one by one the other women started to open up too. Voila! It was interesting to hear their stories and how they are trying to handle them alone. Some just needed a listening ear, some needed validation of their feelings, some needed prayer.

Nevertheless, they needed someone.
One of the things that I have learned as a woman is that we tend to have a Super-Woman complex. Though well intended in an attempt to tackle daily life, we often find ourselves boxed in and sometimes in a self-constructed prison of our minds, simply because we are not being transparent with how life is really affecting us. Then we tend to beat ourselves up because at times life can be so mentally, physically, emotionally or spiritually draining.


No, no, no! That is not healthy. That is not how God wants us to live our lives. 



Tip of the day: Allow yourself to be vunerable to a stranger or if you prefer, a trusted friend about how life is really affecting you at this point. Good, bad or indifferent. Allow your story to touch someone else and possibly give them the confidence to share their heavy heart and lift their spirit. Forget about who may have betrayed your trust before, just do it.

Blessings and hugs,

Nikki ❤️

2 thoughts on “21 days of affirmation-Day 3: Open up

Comments are closed.