21 days of affirmation-Day 5: Let love in. 

When women have been hurt, we tend to put up a fence around our hearts. We can definitely confuse guarding our hearts with “no-one-will-ever-hurt-me-again-so-I-won’t-even-allow-someone-the-opportunity-to-love-me”. I’ve done it. Unknowingly, I’m sure we all have at some point.
I think all people, women and men alike should be cautious when opening ourselves up, but here’s the part that people have a hard time with: In order to be loved, you have to be vulnerable. Again. Yes again. Even though the last time you did, someone took advantage of that. You can not build an iron-clad fence around your heart, and expect another person to figure out all of the ways to break it down.. Because someone else caused you to make it that way. That’s not fair. For you or them.

So how do you do that, successfully? Well I don’t have an easy answer for that. But I do know that you can make it harder to BE loved if you do not truly forgive yourself, forgive the person who hurt you AND guard your heart by praying to God that he give you discernment before giving it to someone else.

Tip of the day: Read I Corinthians 13:4-7 and place the name of the person that you are entertaining as a love interest.. Or are in a relationship with. Do they add up to those things? Do you? If not, these may be things to think about.

Blessings and hugs,

Nikki ❤️

