21 days of affirmation: Day 8-Feel it, all of it. 

Disappointment. Denial. Anger. Sadness. Fear. Some of the things you may feel when you have a loss, or when something unpleasant happens to you. Although you may have not been able to put a label on it, you felt it. But possibly, like me, you didn’t want to acknowledge those feelings at the time.

There have been some traumatic things that have occurred in my life. But I didn’t always want to be honest about my feelings regarding them. Because I thought, “Oh I’m just being sensitive, I’ll get over it, I’ll be ok”. True enough, I did get past those things, eventually. But the longer I chose to not truly acknowledge what I was feeling, ALL of it, the longer it took to heal.

For me journaling, talking honestly with friends and family, and expressing myself through this blog has been the best therapy to date.

One of the things that I had to accept was that God cares about our emotions. He does. He created us to be human beings that could be relational with others, therefore we have feelings, emotions and such. So why wouldn’t he want us to express them? It’s a natural inclination to want to wish away, pray away and stuff away those negative emotions. Go away depression! Go away fear! Get out of here anger! Although well intended, it doesn’t quite work that way. It has helped me the greatest when I actually chose to FEEL them, then I was able to move on!

“When we hold in the things that have caused us pain, it eats away at our spirit then bitterness can settle where there can be peace.”


Tip of the day: Allow yourself to feel every single emotion, that comes along with your situation, even if they are uncomfortable. Don’t suppress! You’ll get through it, and you WILL feel better!

Blessings and hugs,
Nikki ❤️

