21 days of affirmation-Day 10: Be present 

I started nursing school when my oldest was 4 months old. She is 13 now. I was a 21 year old newlywed and wanted a career that helped people, nursing was perfect. Fast forward 4 years to 2 kids later, and I was working 12 hour night shifts at one of the most busy hospitals in our city. Which meant one thing: One tired lady!

I never found enough sleep, and had the nerve to go back to school again for another nursing degree when my baby girl was 1 month old? Oy Vey! Thankfully my Husband was a great team player. He had all 3 children overnight while I worked and while I had weekend clinicals, classes to attend and “naps” after working 7 pm to 7 am. I’m SO grateful for him, however with all that time I was working and in school, I missed out on a lot of quality time with my kids.
That was about about 9 years ago.

 

Now we have a sweet 8 month old baby boy. *insert long awwwww’s here* Last night I was up for his 4 o’clock feeding. It was the usual, or so I thought. After he killed his bottle (in 3 minutes flat might I add!) his eyes started to get heavy, I thought he was down for the count. But then, he opened them back up, and just stared at me. With only the light from the DVR box, I could see him smiling. Then as quickly as that smile flashed he was asleep again lol. I could have quickly put him back in his bed, but no, I wanted to enjoy this moment. I began to trace his eyebrows with my finger, and then I let them get lost in his thick curly hair. While my Husband’s snoring provided a lullaby which perfectly synchronized with my son’s heart beat. I was admiring him and remembering all of the times I didn’t really savor that I could have with my oldest son. Times like these. When I’m sleepy, but really enjoying slight sqirms, baby milk breath and incomprehensible  baby moans. At 4 am.


 So instead of regretting the past, I chose to soak in all of the present. And enjoy it.



The next thing I knew, it was 4:30.
I was content. And I was very present in that moment. God is amazing for creating such a bond. Being a Mom is so beautiful; I love it.
Tip of the day: Be present. Wherever you are. In a restaurant with friends or family. At church. At home with the ones you love the most. In bed with your little one for late night feedings. Take a day to enjoy the things that are not promised tomorrow. Turn off the devices, the social media chatter, the television, all of the pressing things in your life and just connect. Really connect.
Blessings and hugs,

 

Nikki ❤️

