21 days of affirmation-Day 21: Sometimes you have to learn from yourself.

So here I am at the end of the series, and I am feeling quite differently than I thought that I would. My intention was to encourage and empower other women to stop negative self-talk and break bad habits in 21 days, because it’s a proven fact that it takes about that long to do so (or at least that’s what Wikepedia says anyway). But in fact, would you believe that I actually learned several things myself? Hmm. I bet you do. I learned that when you commit to doing something, even during those times when you don’t FEEL like doing them, your commitment should mean more to you than the opposite feeling at the time. Did you catch that? Plainly, just because you don’t feel like doing it, do it anyway.
 

There were several times that I knew I needed to write a blog entry for the day, but I didn’t want to. I was tired or my family, my finances, my job, or my life was pressing or you know, I honestly just plain didn’t have anything in mind…besides all of those “life issues” ahh! There were times when I doubted my career, myself as a Mother, a Wife, a good Christian woman, a friend you name it. I was distracted. In every possible way. This is a 21st century real Christian woman’s life people, real life, I know you all feel it too. Ooohh but then! Then I remembered why I set out to do this whole thing in the first place, to encourage women to stop talking negative to themselves right? Remember that Nikki? So why on earth would I start telling myself “you don’t have time, you’re too stressed, too busy, too whatever, you can’t do this…”?? Hmmm??

 

Bye Girl. Bye Devil.

 

I have been reading many, many books recently. A lot of them have been by Dr. Tony Evans and both of his daughter’s Priscilla and Chrystal. Wow, wow, wow is all that I can say! Their teachings are phenomenal and very relatable because #1. Tony Evans speaks from a Pastor position that is much like a Father, not too lofty like some leaders that I’ve followed before. And #2. Priscilla and Chrystal both are down to earth, funny and keep it really-real, in a teachable-sista girl way. I love it. You can tell that they are a loving family, it’s wonderful. 

I highly recommend their readings-Find their websites here:

TonyEvans.org

Chrystalevanshurst.com

Goingbeyond.com (Priscilla Shirer)

Funny thing is, as I was finishing up my most recent book “Kingdom Woman” co-written by Tony Evans  & Chrystal Evans Hurst yesterday, I was thinking how I needed to subscribe to Chrystal’s blog, well I became busy and totally forgot. Well, I woke up around midnight (thanks insomnia) and glanced at my phone, I had an email from the Proverbs 31 ministries group that I always receive around that time. They always have guest writers featured, but I have been subscribed for a few months now and when I tell you all that I have NEVER seen one from Chrystal Evans Hurst until today, I am not lying to you! There it was, a post about not being ready for a season in your life, today, with a direct link to a subscription to her blog? Whoa.  Jesus. I see you. *waves hi* 👋🏽

  

Anywho back to what I was taught in these past few weeks, I learned that I have a looooong way to go to become a Kingdom woman, but the very good news is, I’m on the right track. Life has thrown me some hard curve balls, some have stung, some have bruised, some have even left scars, but I know that they have all shaped me in some form to be who I am today. There are many things in my colorful past that I no longer desire to do, there are places that I never want to step foot in again, and there are people who I am glad that God has removed from my life forever, those things alone show me that I am spiritually growing. But I also know that I have to stay the course and that it isn’t going to get any easier from here BUT I know who I am and more importantly WHO’S I am. I have faith that I will make it through. HE is growing me in more areas every single day, some in which I don’t even know that I need to grow in until I am placed in those very situations. But as long as I remain teachable I know that I will continue to learn and grow and as will you. I am learning to give myself grace and take the pressure off of myself, as a Mother, a Wife, a Christian, a friend. Learning to give myself room to mess up, make mistakes, to apologize and also to give myself and others opportunities to come back and try again. Because that’s what God has done for me, right? It’s an adjustment, but it’s also a beautiful thing to experience and I am finding joy in that.  

 

 
I hope that you’ve enjoyed this series as much as I have writing it and if I could give you one more thing to take with you, let it be this: “I can see the woman I was and the transition to the woman I am becoming. And I am learning to love it all: the past, present and the journey.”
​​​​​​​​​​

Chrystal Evans Hurst

​​​​​​​​​​“Kingdom Woman”
Don’t give up. This is just the beginning. 
Blessings and hugs

Nikki ❤️

 

 

​​​​​​​​​​

 

3 thoughts on “21 days of affirmation-Day 21: Sometimes you have to learn from yourself.

Comments are closed.